Welcome To Keosauqua

Platted in April 1839 and incorporated in 1842. The name Keosauqua was derived from Meskwaki and Sauk Indians, meaning the bend in the river.

Keosauqua (pronounced KEE-o-SAW-kwa) is the county seat for Van Buren County, with a population of just over 1,000.  It is located on the northern shore of a natural horseshoe shaped bend in the Des Moines River. 

The City of Keosauqua has a five member council that meets once a month.  Meetings are on the second Tuesday of each month, starting at 4:00 pm at City Hall.